Ranji Trophy: Tamil Nadu Lead Railways By 363 Runs Courtesy Narayan Jagadeesan Double Ton

Narayan Jagadeesan smashed his way to unbeaten 245 as it propelled Tamil Nadu team to a commendable first innings score of 489 against Railways on the second day of its Ranji Trophy Group C fixture. Resuming the day on 286 for five, Jagadeesan added 45 more to bring up his maiden first-class double ton. He got decent support from the other end and added another 45 before eventually running out of partners. For Railways, Akash Pandey grabbed three whereas, with the bat, it managed to finish the day on 126 for two, with Pratham Singh currently batting on 76. Openers Shivam Chaudhary (16) and Vivek Singh (11) have been dismissed for the Railways, with Sandeep Warrier knocking them over in both instances.

In another Group C in Mysore, courtesy hundreds from Mayank Agarwal (114) and Devdutt Padikkal (101) have propelled Karnataka to 251 for 4.

Karnataka has managed to finish Day 2 on 251 for four, trailing by 70 runs, with Goa’s Darshan Misal and Mohit Redkar clutching two wickets each.

Earlier, Karnataka bundled out Goa for 321. The visitors began the day on 228 for eight, with Arjun Tendulkar (53) being their last man to be dismissed, whereas Snehal Kauthankar (83) was their top scorer.

Vijaykumar Vyshak, M Venkatesh and Rohit Kumar got three wickets each for Karnataka.

In Chandigarh’s Group C encounter, Gujarat finished Day 2 on 86 for two against Chandigarh after the opening day’s play was called off due to bad light.

With the hosts opting to field, Gujarat was reeling at 19 for two, as Jagjit Singh dismissed both openers Priyank Panchal (5) and Urvil Patel (14).

Also, in Mohali’s Group C meet, Punjab finished Day 2 on 78 for seven versus Tripura after Day 1’s play was suspended due to poor visibility. As the visitors chose to field, it turned out to be the right decision.

So far, Punjab opener Prabhsimran Singh (21) and Nehal Wadhera (33) have been the only two lads to enter double figures, while for Tripura, Manisankar Murasingh and Rana Dutta have captured two wickets each.

Brief scores: In Coimbatore: Tamil Nadu 489 (Narayan Jagadeesan 245, Boopathi Kumar 67; Sai Kishore 59; Akash Pandey 3/102) leads Railways 126-2 (Pratham Singh 76 batting; Sandeep Warrier 2/35) by 363 runs.

In Mysore: Goa 321 (Snehal Kauthankar 83, Arjun Tendulkar 52, Heramb Parab 53; Vijaykumar Vyshak 3/76, M Venkatesh 3/41, Rohit Kumar 3/90) leads Karnataka 251-4 (Mayank Agarwal 114, Devdutt Padikkal 101; Mohit Redkar 2/65) by 70 runs.

In Chandigarh: Gujarat 86-2 (Sunpreetsingh Bagga 39; Jagjit Singh 2/27) vs Chandigarh.

In Mohali: Punjab 78-7 (Nehal Wadhera 33; Manisankar Murasingh 2/11) vs Tripura. PTI AYG KHS KHS

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a comment