No Shami, Kishan As India Name Squad For 1st Two Tests vs England

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday announced Team India’s squad for the first two Tests against England. Among notable absentees, pacer Mohammed Shami, wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan and all-rounder Shardul Thakur are not part of the 17-man squad. The first two Test matches will be played in Hyderabad and Visakhapatnam, respectively. Shami has been out of action due to an ankle injury, while Kishan had asked for rest. Meanwhile, young wicketkeeper-batter Dhruv Jurel has received a maiden call-up for the series starting January 25. Rohit Sharma will lead the side, while star pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been named vice-captain.

“The Men’s Selection Committee announced India’s squad for the first two Tests against England. India are set to play a 5-match Test series, the first of which will be held in Hyderabad from January 25, 2024,” the BCCI said in a statement on Friday.

Pacer Avesh Khan has also been added to the squad, having been part of the group for the second and final Test against South Africa earlier this month. Pacer Prasidh Krishna will also take no part in the first two Tests.

As per a report in news agency Press Trust of India, Krishna is doubtful for the upcoming series, having picked up an injury during Karnataka’s Ranji Trophy match between Gujarat.

The report also added his availability for the last three Tests will be assessed following an MRI scan.

“PTI understands while his MRI scans results are awaited, Prasidh is all set to miss the match against Gujarat. However, his availability for the five-match home Test series against England, staring later this month, is yet to be ascertained,” the report read.

Jurel inclusion in the squad as third-choice keeper comes following Kishan’s absence. He had pulled out of the Test series against South Africa, and was not included in squad for the ongoing T20I series against Afghanistan.

Jurel, who had made his First-Class debut last year, has so far made 790 runs from 15 matches at an average of 46 with a hundred and five fifties in the domestic circuit.

Meanwhile, India named four spinners–Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav–in their Test squad for the first two matches.

In addition to having a formidable pace attack, India included Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mukesh Kumar in the strong 16-member squad.

The first Test will be played in Hyderabad from January 25-29 while Vizag will host the second game between February 2-6.

The remaining Tests will be played in Rajkot, Ranchi and Dharamsala, respectively.

Squad for first 2 Tests vs England: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan

(With ANI Inputs)

Source link

Leave a comment