"It Wasn't Communicated": Afghanistan Coach On Super Over Rules Confusion

A double Super Over in international cricket is unprecedented. As India and Afghanistan squared off in the one-over tie-breaker twice on Wednesday, there emerged big confusion over the rules that weren’t explained in time. India skipper Rohit Sharma‘s decision to retire hurt (or retired out) before the conclusion of the first Super Over triggered a huge debate that even Afghanistan coach Johnathan Trott failed to understand. At the end of the match, Trott revealed that there was hardly any communication between the players and the officials as the second Super Over was required to be played.

Trott, speaking to the media at the end of the match, said that new rules were brought to attention as a double Super Over was never played before.

“I have no idea (whether Rohit retired hurt or out). Has there ever been two Super Overs? That’s what I am trying to say. We keep setting these new rules. What I am trying to say is we kept testing the rules, we kept testing the guidelines,” said Trott in the post-match press meet.

Trott even revealed that the fact that the same bowlers were prohibited from being used in the Super Overs was never communicated to his team properly.

Afghanistan wanted to use Azmatullah Omarzai again in the second Super Over he became ineligible, having bowled the first time.

“It was not communicated (the rule). We wanted Azmat to bowl the second over again, but Fareed (Ahmad) bowled a great over. But these things will be explained and done in writing in the future.

“If those are the rules, that’s great. I just think we had a good game, and I don’t think that (rules) should be the talking point,” he asserted.

It also has to be noted that the Super Over rules have been in vogue since 2019. The officials aren’t supposed to give reminders unless specifically asked.

Source link

Leave a comment