India vs England: Ravindra Jadeja’s LBW Dismissal Sparks DRS Debate. Ravi Shastri Gives Explanation




India batter Ravindra Jadeja looked set to complete his century as he arrived on the pitch on Day 3 of the first Test against England in Hyderabad. However, only a few runs later, England star Joe Root trapped him in front of the stumps, and the umpire had no issue in raising his finger. However, Jadeja remained unconvinced and went straight to the third umpire, opting for a DRS referral. The third umpire analysed the footage available from multiple angles, and in the end, the decision went in the favour of Root and the England team. But, that didn’t stop a social media debate from triggering.

The confusion erupted in the mind of the third umpire after the Ultra Edge showed a big spike just as the ball passed the bat. But, the impact on the pad was also at the same time. Hence, it became inconclusive if the ball hit the bat before it hit the pad.

As the third umpire went for ball tracking, both the impact on the pad and on the stumps showed ‘umpire’s call’ on the giant screen. The final decision, hence, went in the favour of the bowling side as the on-field decision was out.

Ravi Shastri, on commentary duty for the match, agreed with the decision and also explained why Jadeja didn’t get the benefit of the doubt. The former India head coach also explained if the on-field decision was given in favour of the batter, Jadeja would’ve stayed not-out.

After Jadeja’s dismissal, India didn’t add much runs with the bat, with Jasprit Bumrah departing on the next ball of the over from Root. Axar Patel also couldn’t score a half-century, departing a few deliveries later as India took a 190-run first innings lead against England.

Topics mentioned in this article



Source link

Leave a comment