India Achieve Big Record With Series Win vs AFG, Surpass PAK In Elite List

The Indian cricket team made history by completing a 3-0 whitewash in the three-match series against Afghanistan after a hard-fought victory in the third encounter in Bengaluru on Wednesday. The match needed two Super Overs to finally end in India’s favour with Rohit Sharma, Rinku Singh and Ravi Bishnoi emerging as the top performers. With this series win, India now have 9 whitewash series wins in T20I cricket – the most by any country in the shortest format of the sport. India were tied at 8 with Pakistan but the victory on Wednesday means that the Rohit Sharma-led side claimed the sensational T20I feat.

India beat Afghanistan in third T20 International after two thrilling super overs.

Chasing 212, Afghanistan too ended with the same score.

India equalled Afghanistan’s score of 16 in the first super over to stretch the match, but the visitors could not chase down a target of 12 in the second super over as Rohit Sharma’s side picked the required two wickets through Ravi Bishnoi.

Earlier, riding on skipper Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 69-ball 121 and Rinku Singh’s 69 off 39 deliveries, India staged a remarkable recovery to post 212 for four after slipping to 22 for four in the fifth over.

In reply, Afghanistan also ended at 212 with Gulbadin Naib hammering a 23-ball 55 to lead his team’s stunning comeback.

Fareed Ahmad Malik was the most successful bowler for Afghanistan, ending with excellent figures of 3/20, even as his colleagues were taken to the task by Rohit and Rinku.

With this thrilling victory, India won the series 3-0.

(With PTI inputs)

Source link

Leave a comment