Big Change In IPL 2024: Sunrisers Hyderabad Name New Captain In Place Of Aiden Markram

Sunrisers Hyderabad announced on Monday that Australian cricket team star Pat Cummins will be their captain for Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Cummins, who was bought for a staggering price of Rs 20.5 crore in the auction, will replace South Africa international Aiden Markram as the captain. SRH took to social media to announce the news as they posted a picture of Cummins along with the caption – “#OrangeArmy! Our new skipper Pat Cummins”. SRH will face Kolkata Knight Riders on March 23.

In the IPL 2024 auction back in December 2023, SRH got their business underway with the signing of Australia’s World Cup final star Travis Head. However, their record signing was made when the 2016 champions outbid Royal Challengers Bangalore to sign Australia captain Pat Cummins for Rs 20.5 crore.

Full list of players bought by SRH:

1. Travis Head (Rs 6.8 crore)

2. Wanindu Hasaranga (Rs 1.5 crore)

3. Pat Cummins (20.5 crore)

4. Jaydev Unadkat (Rs 1.6 crore)

5. Akash Singh (Rs 20 lakh)

6. Jhatavedh Subramanyan (Rs 20 lakh)

Pre-Auction Squad: Abdul Samad, Aiden Markram, Rahul Tripathi, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Agarwal, Heinrich Klaasen, Anmolpreet Singh, Upendra Yadav, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Abhishek Sharma, Marco Jansen, Washington Sundar, Sanvir Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Mayank Markande.

Players released:Harry Brook, Adil Rashid, Akeal Hosein, Karthik Tyagi, Vivrant Sharma, Samarth Vyas

Players traded out:Mayank Dagar

Players traded in: Shahbaz Ahmed

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a comment